Dramatic Sleeves

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

Dramatic Sleeves have been a wave for a while now and I have come to love them, the creativity behind them is admirable and I love the drama they can bring to a rather simple garment.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

Dramatic sleeves come back various types, circular flounce, ruffled, virago, leg of mutton, juilet, Bishop, dolman, bell, puffed, trumpet, peasant, lantern, batwing/mag yards, butterfly. You’ve probably not heard of some of these sleeves before or maybe you know them but don’t know their names.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

Dramatic sleeves are beautiful and my personal favourite will be bell and virago. While I don’t think virago is something I would wear, it’s very pleasing to the eye and I love to feed my eyes.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

BELL SLEEVESΒ 

A sleeve that is fitted from the shoulder to elbow and gently flared from elbow onward. It can be long or short and is set smoothly into the armhole.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of folaDramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

VIRAGO

A full paned sleeve gathered into two puffs by a ribbon or fabric band. This was very popular in the 1620s/1630s. A more modern twist has been put to it.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola

Your sleeves have names, yes they do. I think some are manipulated to create a new style and I really love that.

Dramatic Sleeves thoughts of folaDramatic Sleeves thoughts of folaDramatic Sleeves thoughts of folaDramatic Sleeves thoughts of fola504fadfa9a3adaf9916caa8b2f610071

Picture Credit: Pinterest

So I think I won’t be taking that break I talked about, the blog has been doing amazing lately and I guess that’s all the motivation I need. I appreciate you all so much.

Did you enjoy this post? Let me know in the comments box. Have a fulfilling weekend πŸ’•πŸ’•

10 thoughts on “Dramatic Sleeves

Leave a Reply

